FEATURE: The Man w/the Microphone in His Hand (concert review)

by

The following is a review of Maxwell’s appearance November 14, 2008 at the War Memorial Auditorium in Greensboro, NC. Enjoy!

The beauty of a plan is the unexpected changes that may occur but we can only hope things go accordingly. War Memorial Auditorium, November 14, 2008, Greensboro, NC. SOLD OUT. The day was rainy and the drive would be a long one. So, things had to start early at 2pm. Two hours later, we, the party of three, were on the road hitting I-77 north bound, ready for the concert. Was there excitement, of course! Then four hours later, well, the drive up was only supposed to take two hours thirty minutes, three hours maximum, but we got a little lost. This was the particular direction that threw us off: Slight right at US-29 N/US-70 E. What?! What does slight right mean other than the obvious?

Anyway, four hours later, we made it to the venue for the festivities. Only heard one and a half songs from Jazmine Sullivan, before the main attraction, glanced us with his presence. Let me tell you something, once Maxwell finally hit the stage, it was full speed ahead. He gave us a reintroduction of a previous introduction with “Get to Know Ya.” And the crowd LOVED the energy he gave as he moved, pulling the audience into the soul of his music.

From that point on, song sequence is a blur. There is no remembering the sequence, when you are so wrapped up in the experience of the performance. Maxwell in concert November 14 was my introduction to seeing him perform live and in the flesh. True statement. Yes, my appreciation began many years ago in ’96 and has since grown tremendously over the years. But there was never an opportunity afforded to me to actually see him until now. So, grateful, just doesn’t seem strong enough a word to explain my feelings. I had to sit down a few times to grasp that I was actually at the concert. Am I here? Am I in the building? Is he there? Is he in the building? Once this was settled and once, his particular “Everwanting” dance movements began, hell yeah we were all in the same building. And everything was everything.

He sung crowd favorites such as “Fortunate,” which had everyone on their feet and “This Woman’s Work,” which had some couples dancing along and “Lifetime,” which had many singing along. When he launched into “Til the Cops Come Knockin,” one of my favorites by him, I was on my feet. It’s not the words of the song but the way he sings it. He also performed “No One” and “W/as My Girl,” definite crowd pleasers.

The new songs performed were “Help Somebody” and “Pretty Wings.” I thoroughly, enjoyed both songs. Once they are released as singles, they will most certainly go to number one status. He also performed the Al Green original, “Simply Beautiful.” Don’t know if that will be on the upcoming album or not but if so, lovely.

A few highlights from the night included, Maxwell singing “Ascension” in a cappella that was refreshingly surprising and a great experience! Seriously! Maxwell, also stood on top of the speakers on both ends. One speaker happened to be directly in front of me, yeah he was in touching distance but I decided against reaching out venue security was no joke. Additionally, a woman somehow got on the stage with Maxwell and gave him a hug which obviously, did not sit well with Maxwell’s personal security. Since I was on the “business” side of the stage, I saw Mr. Henry, slam open the side door, I think he cracked the hinges, once Maxwell said the code phrase. So, NOTE TO FANS ATTENDING FUTURE CONCERTS don’t do that. DO NOT jump on stage. That is a little scary, on all ends, once you really think things through. Lastly, Maxwell performed in a building President-Elect Barack Obama, then Presidential candidate, had a town hall meeting in early this year.

“Whenever, Wherever, Whatever” was the last song, the man with the microphone in his hand sung before he introduced the band members and ended the night. Amazing.

Once Maxwell start touring next year and the years after that, I’m positive he will come closer to South Carolina particularly to Charlotte, NC, Columbia, SC, Spartanburg, SC, and/or Greenville, SC. Any will do. But for those who missed him this time around many opportunites are coming in the future. Start saving now.

“The Man w/the Microphone in His Hand” feature concert review for The Latest Maxwell News presents “From the Other Side of the Side a Maxwell fan’s perspective.”

Copyright Greencaty/Chantay © 2008. All words were used with permission of the owner. Special thanks to the owner for allowing The Latest Maxwell News to feature her concert review. Photos by Vanelle.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “FEATURE: The Man w/the Microphone in His Hand (concert review)”

  1. toyia ayers Says:

    I AM IN AMAZEMENT OF THIS MANS TALENT. EVERYTHING YOU SAID IS TRUE TO THE “T” I WAS IN THE VERY TOP LEFT CENTER ON MY FEET THE WHOLE TIME. SIT DOWN NEVER MAXWELL GETS MUCH RESPCT AND SO DO YOU GREAT ARTICLE

  2. .*(.DanieLLe Says:

    woW Chantay!!

    I had no freakin’ idea that you were going to a show on his tour?!!

    Sweet Mother of Jesus!!

    Better retire those boy shorts!

    LOL!

    I am sO, sO, sO, hapPy you had this opportunity =,)

    YIPEEE!!

    All Love.

    Stay pure-
    .*(.
    DanieLLe

  3. SJ Says:

    Chantay,
    You are a wonderful journalist!
    I enjoyed reading every line of this review. It actually made me feel as though I was there experiencing the show from beginning to end! Thank you for sharing your MAXperience!
    😎

  4. 2Serenity aka JROSE Says:

    You allowed me to recapture some things that I do remember from Maxwell’s tour in New York City. Thank you for your perspective Chantay. You made me feel as though I was there. Question: Did you see what merchandise was on sale at the concert? I wanted to buy a program if that was available but I did not see one in New York. I wanted to have more information on those who were in his band. Thank you for sharing with us!

  5. vivrant thang Says:

    Looks like we both had a great time! Which is not a surprise. Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to link to or cross post my review here, especially since it has video for those that weren’t able to make it.

  6. thelatestmaxwellnews Says:

    @toyia, Hey girlie, I’m glad you and your hubby had a great time at the show!

    @danielle, Yes! I’m sorry I didn’t let you know honey. Maybe the excitement made it slip my mind!?

    @SJ, thanks!

    @2Serenity, no, I didn’t see a program or anything.

    @vivrant thang, thanks for allowing your review to be used!!!

  7. L. Bates Says:

    I am in total awe! He actually sang “Ascension”, my all time favorite, acapella?!! *insert scream here* Oh, how I wish I could’ve been there! I really do hope that they put “Simply Beautiful” on the upcoming cd. Oh, forget what ya heard, because Sexy Max is back!

  8. asiandiver Says:

    Chantay,
    It was very nice to read you review.
    You described every feeling I experienced during the performance too.
    🙂
    Still he won’t come to Amsterdam The Netherlands any time soon or even Europe for that matter I think.
    So I have to come to the USA to see him again I guess.

    Thank you for sharing your review with us.

Comments are closed.


