MAXWELL Relished His Time Out Of The Spotlight

by

‘You want to know somebody’s around you not because of what you could offer,’ he says of eight-year break.
By Shaheem Reid

NEW YORK — Maxwell said you can’t just go up to a pregnant woman and say, “Blue eyes, red hair and a girl.” Well, the same is true for the neo-soul singer’s music.

“The way I make good music, it’s not about what’s expected of me,” he said recently after a Manhattan reception for his upcoming CD. “It’s hard to make good music when you’re thinking about what somebody wants you to do.”

So he didn’t think about what the fans or his record label wanted. As we say in the ‘hood, Max did him. It’s been eight years since he released his last album.

“It was a lot easier than I thought it would be,” he said about his prolonged vacation. “It was a lot easier than I thought it was to enjoy. [My career] started when I was 21. I don’t want to complain about my life, because I don’t want to sound crazy to a person that’s living a life. I’ve been blessed. But the common things people take for granted, I never had for a long stretch, such as going out on the train.”

Max was one of R&B’s leading men when he first hit the scene, and considering how young he was and what he accomplished in such a short time span (his debut was released in 1996), he seemed destined to be one of the all-time greats. But with his career still in its prime, he chilled for close to a decade.

“I feel like I’ve relished these few years, where I got to kick it, where I got to meet girls who didn’t know who I was, where they would be like, ‘What’s your name?’ ” he said. “Knowing you’re appreciated for you as a person was something that was very easy to be into for a while.

“What tends to happen when records are coming out and all the things that come around you, you’re never sure [how genuine people are],” he added. “I’m very insecure, and I want to know people appreciate real things. You want to know somebody’s around you not because of what you could offer or who you are.”

Max seems to have put his insecurities aside for now. He just released the single “Pretty Wings” from the album Black, the first in his trilogy of LPs to be released over the next three years.

“I wanted to be like, ‘I like how this sounds,’ ” he said of his pressure-free recording process this time around. ” ‘I don’t care if people buy it or not. It makes me feel good.’ ”

View MAXWELL video footage

Source: MTV News

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “MAXWELL Relished His Time Out Of The Spotlight”

  1. alycia rashea Says:

    You just wanted to be you! Just every day people!
    A no name face in the crowd. How can you not love that! Maxwell you are indeed loved for who YOU are!
    May GOD continue to bless you!

  2. Tywree Says:

    Well, I LIKE THE WAY IT SOUNDS and I’m DEFINATELY gonna buy it!!!..It makes me feel good too!
    Thank you Maxwell for having the courage to “Do You” without interference from anybody else!…It is SOOO appreciated. Your true fans know what you give is pure and genuine…
    Can’t wait ’til July 7th!!
    And I’m still requesting “Pretty Wings” on the radio daily!

  3. Janice Clark Says:

    I am so glad Maxwell feels that way …where he can enjoy life and see that life is not all glamour and bling. That is why I love this man’s characteristics. I can’t imagine being that young in the music industry and don’t have a chance to experience life under many people trying to make a buck off of you. I’m not mad at him. Life is to short not to take a break by always trying to please everyone but yourself. Since he is about to go on tour in the summer and when he finish if he want to take a break fine with me I am a understandable person. Overwork could stress or kill you. As much as I love me some Maxwell, I wouldn’t want something to happen to him. ‘Cause that means I will have to leave my husband and family to come and take care of him. Well Max, whatever you want to do, I meant it when I said I support you. MUCH LUV

  4. JANIS Says:

    AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!NOTHING MORE 2 SAY , HE SAID IT ALL AND IT ALL MAKES SENSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. UniqueDiva Says:

    That’s the wonderful feeling! Its the freedom to simply being you. Beautiful article!

  6. Nicole Says:

    So humble and so totally real. This man is truly amazing. That’s why I don’t mind spending my hard earned money on his music. He is not into himself and thinking that he is God’s gift because he’s famous. The rest of these idiots in the entertainment industry need to take some lessons from him.

    Every time he opens his mouth, whether to sing or for an interview, I fall more in love with him. What a truly wonderful person!!

  7. Kia Says:

    You definitely don’t hear too many artists doing what Max is doing. To say that he just wanted to live life says it all. We all know that life is so short and when we have the opportunity to live life we need to live it to the fullest and that is something that I can definitely understand why Maxwell took a break so he could live his life and now he is back!

  8. Shelly Says:

    max is absolutely beautiful…..

Comments are closed.


